Underage Drinking Ticket Near Raleigh
Underage drinking in North Carolina is a serious offense. With 20% of teens ages 12-20 engaging in illegal alcohol consumption, underage drinking tickets are an unfortunately common issue that our attorneys handle.
An underage drinking ticket can result from anyone under the age of 21 (a minor) consuming or carrying any type of alcohol — no exceptions. While the legal limit in the State of North Carolina is 0.08% BAC (blood alcohol content), if you’re under 21, any amount of alcohol is grounds for getting a ticket.
Why You Need a Lawyer for an Underage Drinking Ticket
Underage drinking is viewed with a “zero tolerance” attitude by judges and law officials across North Carolina. The damaging effects that an underage drinking charge could have on a person’s future are serious. Once someone receives a drinking ticket, it can be difficult to remove from showing up on a background check, which can affect their job search, getting a loan, and more. Not to mention, the fines and penalties for drinking underage can be substantial.
Mishandling a drinking ticket can have a permanent effect on your record. In some cases, community service is required by the court, which can be a burden on work or school schedules. Consulting with an experienced lawyer that is familiar with NC underage drinking cases can make a difference in the possible outcome.
Carrying Alcohol Can Lead to an Underage Drinking Ticket
Yes. The statute regarding underage drinking deems that anyone buying, possessing, or consuming alcohol under the age of 21 can be ticketed. Buying alcohol with a fake I.D. or simply possessing it as a minor can be as serious as if you’ve actually consumed it. The legal system, especially in Wake County, does not look lightly on these offenses, which is where an attorney can help.
Penalties for Underage Drinking in North Carolina
While underage drinking laws vary from state to state, North Carolina classifies underage drinking offenses as Class 1 or Class 2 misdemeanors. If driving was involved (DWI/DUI), the consequences are more severe.
Penalties for underage drinking charges in North Carolina may include:
- Up to 120 days of jail time
- Losing their driver’s license
- Fines and financial penalties ($200 – $500)
- Court costs
- Community service
- Alcohol/substance abuse courses
- Additional penalties by the university or academic institution (if occurred on campus)
The consequences one receives for a drinking ticket can depend on variables, such as if the person has a previous criminal record or if they are a first-time offender.
Our attorneys will carefully review the factors of your case and work with you to determine the optimal course of action for your situation. Acts of good faith like attending alcohol counseling classes before your court date may help your case, showing the court that you understand the severity of the charges against you and are taking proactive action. Factors such as these are important when facing an underage drinking or DWI ticket, and can your attorney can help guide you through the process.
Can I use a Prayer for Judgement (PJC)?
A Prayer for Judgment Continued (PJC), also referred to as simply, “Prayer for Judgement,” is typically reserved for traffic violations, such as speeding tickets. Learn more about what a Prayer for Judgement is and when to use it.
Getting a Drinking Violation Removed
A concerning issue for young adults who get charged with underage drinking is the impact that it will have on their future. Many employers conduct background checks before hiring, which can be a problem if someone has a drinking violation on their record.
It is possible to reduce the negative mark or remove an underage drinking charge from a person’s record. Through legal processes like a deferral or expungement, there are options available for removing an underage drinking offense or DWI.
Other Areas Of Criminal Law
Our criminal defense attorneys are able to represent you for a variety of charges, including:
- Child Support
- DMV hearings
- Domestic violence
- Drug offenses
- Gun Rights Restoration
- Hunting Violations
- Juvenile offenders
- Parole violation
- Property crimes
- Sex Crimes
- Speeding tickets
- Suspended licenses
- Texting While Driving
Contact a Raleigh Area Attorney if You Get an Underage Drinking Ticket
The first step to protect your future and receive the best possible outcome for your drinking ticket is to consult with an attorney. Read more about underage drinking tickets in NC here.
The criminal lawyers of Kirk, Kirk, Howell, Cutler & Thomas, LLP have seen many underage drinking cases in Raleigh, Wendell, and statewide. Our attorneys are with you every step of the way and strive to obtain the best possible outcome for your specific case.
If you have been charged with underage drinking, our Raleigh lawyers are available for a consultation by calling (919) 615-2473 or by completing the online contact form. Don’t wait until your court date is right around the corner. Speak with one of our attorneys today.
Protecting your Privacy ~ Your privacy is our primary concern. At Kirk, Kirk, Howell, Cutler & Thomas, LLP., we understand the importance of protecting your privacy and will never share your contact information with a 3rd party. Contacting our law firm does not imply any form of attorney-client relationship.
Information presented on this website should not be construed as formal legal advice or the formation of an attorney-client relationship. Additionally, any email sent to Kirk, Kirk, Howell, Cutler & Thomas, L.L.P. or any of its lawyers at the email addresses set forth in this website will not create an attorney-client relationship.