Having a suspended drivers license can impact your career or education, independence, and ability to spend time with your friends and family. Trying to navigate the legal side of the Division of Motor Vehicles is confusing and overwhelming for most people, which is why, if you have a suspended license, it’s important to speak with one of our Raleigh attorneys.
At Kirk, Kirk, Howell, Cutler, and Thomas, we help people get their licenses reinstated because we know that a license is about more than driving, it’s about your ability to support yourself and live independently. In many cases, we can help you determine what needs to be done to get your license back, whether that means determining how to pay a fee, having a Failure to Appear stricken, or even applying for a DMV hearing.
Reasons for Suspended Licenses in North Carolina
North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has the ability to suspend or revoke driving privileges if the driver has shown they are not safe or fit to be driving. A suspension means driving privileges have been taken away temporarily for a specific period and they will be restored once the terms of the suspension are complete. Revocation means the driving privileges have been terminated and can only be restored after fulfilling specific eligibility requirements or after a successful DMV hearing.
The most common reasons a driver’s license is suspended include:
- Traffic violations – These can be individual violations such as speeding over 15 miles per hour, if you are driving over 55 mph is a 30 day suspension, while 2 conviction of speeding faster than 55 mph within a year is a 12 month suspension.
- Failure to appear in court (even for minor violations)
- Failure to pay a fine or ticket (even expired tags or seatbelt violations)
- Driving while impaired (DWI)
- Refusing to take a breathalyzer test if suspected of DWI
If your license has been suspended for any reason, you will be notified in writing by the DMV.
Reinstating a Suspended License in Raleigh
If your license has been suspended, if it’s for a set period of time, once that time has passed, you must pay a $65 restoration fee ($130 if it’s for DWI) and a $50 service fee. However, you may also have to pay additional fines and fees, depending on the reason your license was suspended, such as failure to appear/failure to pay fines.
Contact Our Raleigh Attorneys to Reinstate Your License
If you’ve got a suspended license and aren’t sure how to get your privileges back, the experienced team at Kirk, Kirk, Howell, Cutler, & Thomas can help. We are very familiar with North Carolina driving laws, and will work on your behalf to get your driving privileges back as soon as possible, whether that means scheduling a hearing, getting limited privileges, or helping you get full reinstatement. Schedule a consultation by calling our Raleigh office at (919) 615-2473 or fill out the form below!
Protecting your Privacy ~ Your privacy is our primary concern. At Kirk, Kirk, Howell, Cutler & Thomas, LLP., we understand the importance of protecting your privacy and will never share your contact information with a 3rd party. Contacting our law firm does not imply any form of attorney-client relationship.
Information presented on this website should not be construed as formal legal advice or the formation of an attorney-client relationship. Additionally, any email sent to Kirk, Kirk, Howell, Cutler & Thomas, L.L.P. or any of its lawyers at the email addresses set forth in this website will not create an attorney-client relationship.